Strong and Engaged Communities

We see thriving, diverse and culture rich communities as fundamental both to Syria’s prosperity and to our shared sense of national identity. In particular, we believe a more self-determining and more sustainable society can be built by creating stronger communities. Our activities focus on three main objectives; enabling better self-organisation of communities, making community centres the focal point for enriched local engagement, and creating a positively reinforcing environment for volunteering.

Strengthening volunteer participation


Our community engagement efforts are supported by hundreds of volunteers, who willingly give up their time to make a real difference to other people’s lives. The Trust advocates for volunteerism nationally by mobilising volunteers and encouraging the integration of volunteering into development programmes. Recognising that volunteers are motivated by diverse factors, we are committed to engaging them in meaningful activities suited to their skills and interests. We provide our volunteers with the necessary support and recognition to enable them to perform their roles effectively. Volunteers are also invited, and encouraged to participate in decision- making and governance, and to voice their opinions on improving the work in which they are involved. In this way, the Trust believes it is playing its part in creating a positively reinforcing volunteering culture.

Fostering community engagement


The groundwork for the Trust’s engagement with and empowerment of communities takes place in its network of community centres. We see our centres as focal points: places where people can come together and connect within their communities. Centres are positively reinforcing environments, which encourage and support people to become more active, confident and resilient in tackling the challenges they face on a daily basis. The centres provide access to social networks, facilities and resources to stimulate community activity that satisfies the needs of constituents. Over time, they have come to form an integral part of the social fabric of their communities.

Nurturing community organisation


We believe communities have a latent power to make things happen for themselves. We are dedicated to showing them the way so that they can go on to lead for themselves; it is about nurturing a shift in mindset from one of waiting for things to happen, to one of making them happen. By self-organising and taking ownership of their affairs, communities can breakground on, and influence matters, that they would never have otherwise considered tackling. They are able to come together as one voice to engage local authorities on issues central to their wellbeing, including the repair of public facilities and the creation of specialised public services for the disadvantaged. Additionally, communities mobilise their own resources and those of partners within the Trust Network to influence solutions in a way that improves the prospects of long-term sustainability.

مجتمعات محلية حيّة وقوية

نحن نؤمن أن ازدهار كل مجتمع محلي متنوع وغني بثقافته هو أمر جوهري لازدهار سورية وترسيخ الشعور المشترك بالهوية الوطنية. كما نؤمن بأن بناء هذه المجتمعات القوية يؤدي إلى بناء مجتمع مستقل ومستدام يتمتع بالاكتفاء الذاتي. لذا نركز في أنشطتنا على ثلاثة أهداف رئيسية تتمثل بتمكين المجتمعات لتكون قادرة على تنظيم نفسها بشكل أفضل، وجعل المنارات المجتمعية تربة خصبة لاستقطاب المشاركة المحلية الكثيفة، وخلق بيئة إيجابية تعزز العمل التطوعي.

تعزيز التنظيم المجتمعي


نحن نؤمن أن لدى المجتمع المحلي طاقةً كامنةً تجعله قادر على تطوير نفسه. لذا نلتزم بمساعدته على شق طريقه ليتمكن من تولّي زمام الأمور بنفسه، وذلك عبر دفع الأفراد لتغيير طريقة تفكيرهم من أفراد ينتظرون تحسّن أوضاعهم إلى أفراد يساهمون بتحسينها. ويمكن للمجتمع المحلي من خلال التنظيم الذاتي وامتلاك زمام المبادرة في إدارة شؤونه أن يضع حجر الأساس ويؤثر في المسائل التي لم يعتقد يوماً أنه قادر على معالجتها بغير الطرق المعتادة. بذلك يصبح هذا المجتمع قادر على الوقوف معاً للمطالبة بصوت واحد بإشراك الإدارات المحلية بقضايا تعتبر محورية بالنسبة لرفاهه، بما في ذلك إصلاح المرافق العامة وإنشاء الخدمات العامة المتخصصة للأشخاص الأكثر احتياجاً. كما أن المجتمع المحلي يحشد موارده وموارد الشركاء ضمن الأمانة للتأثير في القرارات والخروج بحلول تُحسّن من فرص التنمية على المدى الطويل.

تقوية المشاركة المجتمعية


تعمل الأمانة من خلال مناراتها المجتمعية على تعزيز انخراطها في المجتمع المحلي، فنحن ننظر إلى مناراتنا كنقاط محوريّة توفر الأماكن التي يتجمع فيها الناس ليتمكنوا من التواصل ضمن مجتمعاتهم. وتعزز هذه المنارات البيئة الإيجابية التي تحفز الناس وتدعمهم ليكونوا أكثر فعالية وثقة وثبات في التعامل مع التحديات اليومية. كما أن هذه المنارات تعمل كجسر للوصول إلى شبكات مجتمعية أخرى وموارد وتسهيلات اجتماعية، تحفيزاً للنشاط الاجتماعي الذي يلبي احتياجات أفرادها. ويمكن لهؤلاء الأفراد مع مرور الوقت أن يشكلوا جزءاً لا يتجزأ من النسيج الاجتماعي في مجتمعاتهم.

تشجيع روح التطوع


تلقى جهودنا في العمل مع المجتمع المحلي دعم مئات المتطوعين الذين يسخّرون وقتهم وجهدهم لإحداث تغيير حقيقي في حياة الآخرين. والأمانة إذ تنادي بالعمل التطوعي على المستوى الوطني عبر حشد المتطوعين وتشجيع دمج فكر التطوع في برامج التنمية، تأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن هؤلاء المتطوعين تحفزهم عوامل مختلفة، لذا فإننا نلتزم بإشراكهم في أنشطة هادفة تتناسب مع مهاراتهم واهتماماتهم، ونزودهم بالدعم والمهارات اللازمة لتمكينهم من أداء دورهم بفعالية. كما ندعوهم ونشجعهم على المشاركة في صنع القرار والتعبير عن آرائهم لتحسين نوعية العمل الذي انخرطوا فيه. وبهذا تكون الأمانة قد أدت دورها بخلق وتعزيز ثقافة تطوع راسخة.